Major Change

Next Monday could change my life.

Sitting here reading that sentence makes me sound over-dramatic, doesn’t it?  It’s true though.  Next Monday I will be attending a bariatric seminar at Shawnee Mission Medical Center.

For those that aren’t familiar with the word bariatric it means the branch of medicine that deals with the causes, prevention, and treatment of obesity.  I will be going to get information on getting a Lap Band.

I’ve personally met three people that have had this procedure done and like anything it’s hard work.  However, each person said that if you follow the directions (no cheating) it will be the best thing I will ever do.  Now, know that one of these people the procedure didn’t work for.

I’ll go from this…

I don't have a double chin but she doesn't have cellulite so we'll call it even

To this…

105 lbs lighter

105 lbs lighter

There are two centers that my insurance will cover.  Since insurance covers everything (except the $100 hospital copay and the various copays for doctor visits) I’m hoping that the information I gather from these meetings helps me decide.  I really would like to be able to wear a “normal” sized bathing suit when the family goes to Belize next spring instead of looking for something with a skirt attached.  Because we all know how sexy a bathing suit with a skirt can be.

I’ll keep you all informed as to how the decision is progressing.

One thought on “Major Change

  1. Pingback: Do You Zumba? « Midwestern Ramblings

Leave a Reply

