I’m a Foodie

Yes, it’s true.  I’m a foodie.  I love all things food.  I love trying new foods and making new recipes.  Most of all I love kitchen gadgets.  Here are a few that are great.  Of course there are a few that I haven’t had the luxury to try yet (can you say Le Creuset?).

Le Cruset Oval Dutch Oven

At a lovely $269.95 each I don’t think I will get to try one of these gems any time soon.  Just about every cooking show uses these so I’m sure when I get my turn at owning one it will be heavenly.  I’m just sure of it.  If you’re not familiar with Le Creuset products they are non-reactive porcelain enameled cast iron cookware with tight-fitting lids that can just as easily be used on the stove as in the oven.  And they come in some very lovely colors.

KitchenAid Mixer

This amazing machine I actually do own.  It weighs in at a huge 22 pounds so once it made its way to my counter it has stayed there.  Although I could save a few dollars on the gym membership if I just started lifting my mixer.  I haven’t found anything that this baby can’t handle.  I only have a few of the attachments but let me tell you that the ice cream maker attachment is amazing!  At about $300 this is a serious investment and each of the attachments are around $50.  However those attachments can help save a ton of cash at home.  We all know that making your own bread saves money… now if you could make your own flour that would add up as well.  How about ground meats?  There’s an attachment for that as well.  Pasta roller, slicer/grater, or juicer even. 

Eggsact Egg Timer

There have been many times that I have found myself forgetting to set a timer for my husband’s all time favorite.  Hard boiled eggs.  It’s almost an unhealthy obsession of his.  This little gadget goes into the water with the eggs and as the eggs cook the color changes on this device to tell you how hard the eggs are cooked.  Perfect every time and for only about $5 how can you argue?  Of course I haven’t purchased one yet so dear hubby gets to eat sometimes forgotten hard (?) boiled eggs.

Thermometer

For something so simple this really is a huge necessity in every kitchen.  It means the difference between amazing turkey on Thanksgiving and sending people to the hospital with food poisoning.  Or the best way to get the perfect steak.  Want it cooked medium?  150 is the number to aim for there.  It’s just as easy to get perfectly rare beef as well if that’s more to you liking.  I’ve seen these for about $10 so a wise investment I say.

One thought on “I’m a Foodie

  1. Pingback: How Exactly Do You Can Whoopass? « Midwestern Ramblings

Leave a Reply

