Hey, Baby, Nice Tailgate ~or~ On A Schtick

I’ve already told you about my big plans this weekend.  The dilemma I’m having is what to bring for the tailgate parties?  I’ve only attended one other and didn’t bring anything.  Saturday we start in the early afternoon and Sunday is in the morning (can’t wait to try the biscuits and gravy cooked over the fire). 

During the 4th of July festivities I was able to try grilled jalapeno poppers.  WOW!  I’m not a real jalapeno kind of person but these were completely addictive.  I will be attempting to make these for the party Saturday.  And since Chef Curt will be there they will be cooked in the smoker.  Yah, because my addiction wasn’t bad enough.  Here’s my “recipe”.

  • jalapenos
  • Cream Cheese
  • Bacon
  • Toothpicks
  1. Cut the jalapenos in half lengthwise (I’m planning on wearing gloves for this part)
  2. Remove all of the seeds and membranes from the peppers (again use the gloves)
  3. Fill the halves with cream cheese (I may add a small chunk of pineapple too)
  4. Cut bacon in half
  5. Wrap filled peppers with bacon and secure with toothpick
  6. Grill till crispy

They should look like this

As for Sunday I’m bouncing around different ideas.  Maybe cinnamon rolls or a coffee cake.  Not sure on that.

Leave a Reply

