There’s Poo in My Hair

Shampoo that is.  I read a ton of blogs.  One of the lovely ladies I follow is so super talented she even makes her own solid shampoos and conditioners.  I was lucky enough to find a sample of both in my mailbox this week.  Now, you know that I’m a klutz so a solid bar of anything could have disastrous results in a shower.  This is easily remedied with those little organa bags brides love so much.

Wonderland Handmade Bath and Body is where you can also have the same amazing shower experience that I had (not that kind you dirty monkeys).  I’ll be honest that when I first opened up the mailing package the scent kind of took me over.  It was a very strong mix of what reminded me of Hawaiian Tropic suntan oil and Pearberry lotion.  I was a bit concerned that I would have to swat away bees if the scent stuck around after I used these new little gems.  I put the package on the table and went on with my day.  Coming back to it a few days later ready to use the shampoo for the first time I found that the scent was no longer overpowering.  My guess is that the short trip from Wisconsin to Kansas in a sealed envelope might have concentrated the scent.

Juicy Green Pear Conditioner and Coconut Shampoo (bad camera phone)

This shampoo experience is completely new to me.  I wet down my hair and started lathering the bar between my hands to work up enough lather for my head.  Almost immediately the softest mound of bubbles was ready.  Into my hair it went.  Scrub, scrub, scrub, and rinse.  As the site says “be sure to use lots of water during the wash and rinse, since this is actually a shampoo concentrate in solid form” I rinsed and rinsed.  I actually stood there a moment trying to decide if I needed conditioner.  Which as it has been quite chilly here lately (wool coats have been used) and I use an extra conditioner even after 2-in-1 shampoos (plus we have some of the hardest water around) I grabbed the conditioner.  Again rubbing the little flower shaped solid between my hands I lightly coated my locks.  Rinse again.

Once out of the shower I toweled my hair so it wasn’t dripping and proceeded to brush through it.  Wait!  No tangles… not a single one.  Even my super-hope-Hubby-doesn’t-ask-how-much-this-cost products can’t do that.  Wow.  Really impressed.  I was afraid this kind of result would happen if I was too heavy on the conditioner and will find the greasy look after my blow dryer was done with its job but I was totally wrong.  These products are just that good.  I couldn’t help myself throughout the day to play with my hair.  I felt like a 50’s teen with a crush twirling my hair all day.  This is some seriously good stuff people.

[insert cheesy infomercial voice] How much would you expect to pay for such an amazing product?  $60? NO! $50? NO!  How about the low low price of just $10 each.  That’s right.  $10 gets you enough shampoo to last as long as a 12 ounce bottle of the liquid stuff.  And the conditioner will last just as long (if you keep these dry between uses~ everyone knows what happens to the bar of soap left in the puddle too long).

Luci, I’m so glad that I was able to try these out.  I was blind but now I see.  Solid ‘poo and con for me from now on!

~ For the record this was not a paid review.  Also, I have fine hair but a lot of it.  It’s been too long but it is color treated.

One thought on “There’s Poo in My Hair

  1. Hi Vickie, Sorry I didn’t comment before but thanks for this really great review on my haircare! What kind of long-term results did you get with it? Since every head of hair is different, I’m always curious how things work out in the end.

Leave a Reply

