Foamy Newness

As we’ve talked about before I can be kind of flighty.  Sometimes this comes in the form of bouncing interests when I get bored.  Or when I should be working on something else.  For example, I really should be working on my final paper yet somehow the new hair dye I just bought called louder than the huge stack of data to sort through.

Yes, I’m one of the 99.98% of women who cannot honestly remember what their natural hair color is.  With the exception of about a year I have dyed my hair since I was 14.  That single year was recently when Hubby asked me what my natural color was and I answer him I decided to grow it out and see.  Notice that it’s been dyed several times since this little experiment if that tells you anything.

New product alert!  I saw an ad in one of those magazines that made me curious to try a new product.  Samy Fat Foam Hair Color.  Found at Walmart on sale for about $6.  I’ve used creams, gels, and liquids to dye my hair.  Hell, I even used that crazy spray in sun stuff (we’re not even talking about the Koolaid or Jello powder summer).  But foam is a different experience for me.  From the packaging I was expecting foam similar to mousse and not Cool Whip so that was a bit of a challenge.

The first thing I noticed when I opened up the directions was that there were a lot of them.  We’re talking some serious reading material.  I’m used to only having to look up how long to process the color once the mess is in my hair.  This was more like a chemistry experiment.  Here’s the simple version:

  1. Wear gloves
  2. Pour developer liquid into container
  3. Pour powder dye into container
  4. Tighten lid onto container
  5. Shake container vertically for more than 30 seconds
  6. Open lid
  7. Coat hair with foam
  8. Wait 30 minutes
  9. Rinse until water is clear
  10. Use included shampoo and conditioner
  11. Style as normal

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How did it turn out?  I like it.  I was a bit disappointed that there were only ten colors to choose from but maybe that’s why I don’t like picking colors from the other lines… too many options.  This one was pretty easy to use and I only managed to drop one blob of fluffy stuff on me (nothing on my bathroom for that matter) so that’s a definite plus.  Another plus is the smell… or lack of smell.  I won’t lie and tell you that it was like walking through a patch of flowers nestled next to a stream in the mountains.  It just wasn’t the normal burn-every-hair-in-your-nose stench most hair dye comes with.  I like the color even though my initial reaction was along the lines of “Oh MY!  That is a bit DARK!”  But I think it’s a nice change from my normal medium/light brownie coppery color.  Would I use this again?  Yes.  I really think that I would.

~Please note this is not a paid review.

Leave a Reply

