Mmmm Cheeeeeese

I made cheese.  Ok I’ll let that sink in for a minute.

 

All better?  Recovered from the shock? 

Why would I want to make cheese when there are aisles and even whole stores devoted to the stuff?  Well, because I can.  That’s why.  Why not?  It’s so super tasty.  Why to people make jam?  You can buy that at the store too.  Hmm seeing as I just made some jam last week maybe that’s not the best example.  Anywho. 

Want to know how?  It’s super easy and doesn’t take too terribly long at all.

Grab a gallon of milk.  I used whole milk since fat tastes good.  I’ve read where people use fresh milk but at $8 a gallon that’s not an option.

1 gallon of moo juice (store brand of course)

 Heat very slowly (we’re talking low low low heat) until the milk reaches 170-180 degrees.  You don’t have to stir the entire time but being the OCD attentive person I am I  was pretty on top of it.

$3 candy thermometer to the rescue.

Once the temperature is right turn off the heat and slowly stir in the juice of one lemon.  And because I’m a little less than patient I also added a few tablespoons of plain white vinegar.  Let this sit for a few minutes off the heat to make the curds that will become your cheese. 

Little Miss Moffett would be thrilled.

I placed a strainer over a bowl and used a slotted spoon to remove the curds from the pot of mess.  As I scooped out the curds I tilted the strainer to help to get the whey out.  It did well enough.   This is the point I added a pinch or two of salt. 

Cheesy goodness.

After pressing out most of the liquid and shaping the cheese… um… loaf(?) it’s time to put it into containers.  Here’s where you get to decide how many people you’re going to share this goodness with.  I had some left over 8 ounce plastic containers from making jam so I decided that I’d try them out.  I got two and most of a third filled.  I’m going to round up and say that a gallon of milk will make 24 ounces of cheese.  I added some pepper to the smaller of the three to make a nice savory treat.  Now, I just need to figure out what to do with all the whey left over. 

Cheese + (fresh) jam = heavens open from above and angels sing. No, really.

One thought on “Mmmm Cheeeeeese

  1. Pingback: That’s Not A Tapeworm I’m Making Booze. « Midwestern Ramblings

Leave a Reply

