9/11 Not Just A Tragic Day

Before the tragic 9/11 attacks 10 years ago September 11th was just another day.  Sure, it was the day that Cold War leader Khrushchev died (1971) .  It was also the day that a Texas commuter plane crashed (1991).  Not to mention the endless birthdays and anniversaries that fall on September 11th.  And of course there’s a special event that is near and dear to my heart that happens to land on this date as well. 

What is this great event of which I hint? 

My birthday?  Nope.

My anniversary?  Nope.

The date that I won the lottery?  It’s better than that!

It’s my divorciversary!  Eight years ago I went into a Shawnee County courtroom with a knot in my stomach, my head down low, and my lawyer on my arm.  A little while later I walked out of that courtroom with my head up, shoulders back, spring in my step, and divorce decree in my hand (not to mention a different last name).  You see that’s what happens when you lose 300 pounds in just a few short minutes.  It was great!  Easily one of the top three greatest things I’ve ever done.

With that being said part of me feels bad that on this day of remembering our great nation’s loss I’m out happy as a clam.  So if you see me please forgive my happiness. 

Leave a Reply

