Magic Sauce My Way

 

Heaven

Heidi Swanson over at 101 Cookbooks is definitely a woman to follow.  When I found her recipe for what she calls Magic Sauce in my Google Reader I almost couldn’t contain myself.  I had to go straight out to get some fresh herbs to make my own version.

I’ve fried eggs in this, used it instead of butter and milk in mashed potatoes, added it in layers of lasagna, made Italian breaded chicken breasts**, dipped plain old bread in it (OMG!).  This would truly be the one item I would have to make sure I took with me to my deserted island.  It’s seriously that good. 

Heidi uses rosemary in hers and since I’m not exactly a fan of the evergreen scented stuff so I had to pass on that herb.  I planned on making quite a bit so I purchased a large package of basil and oregano but the rest I already had on hand.

  • 1 bottle of EVOO
  • 1 bunch of basil
  • 1 bunch of oregano
  • garlic– as much as you can stand (I’ve got the freeze-dried kind that Penzey’s sells.  Amazing!)
  • red pepper flakes– I cheat and use a packet from the pizza place
  • salt
  • pepper
  • paprika– lots!

As you can see I don’t really measure in this kind of cooking.  🙂 

  1. Warm the EVOO over med-low heat in a skillet
  2. Cut the herbs in thin bits (no need for fancy knife work here).  Or you could be like me and bust out the mortar and pestal.  Work out some stress that way.
  3. Turn off the heat once the oil looks a bit rippley… or when you toss in a piece of herb and it starts to fry you know you’ll need to cool it off a little.  Like I did.  We’re not frying herbs here.  We’re infusing flavor into the oil.
  4. Toss in all of the herbs/spices and stir a bit. 
  5. Once it’s cool I funneled all of it back into the original bottle.

This can be kept in the fridge but will be thick when you use it and really I’ve used this entirely too quickly to worry about it going bad.  From what Heidi says it’s good for about 7-10 days though.  But really… you’ll use it up before then.

**Recipe to come.

One thought on “Magic Sauce My Way

  1. Pingback: Meat As Promised « Midwestern Ramblings

Leave a Reply

