Creamy Goodness

image

image

image

image

I’m just a little addicted to my Google Reader. I check for blog updates more than I check Facebook. And really when I think about it I follow more blogs than I have friends on Facebook. By… Let’s just say hundreds more. 

The other day I came across a post about 2 minute mayo and realized I had all of the things needed to make it (crazy kitchen gadget* included).  OK, that’s not exactly true.  I didn’t have a lemon or any lemon juice (don’t care for the stuff).  But I did remember that vinegar can substitute for lemon juice.

So off I went.  Separated an egg and put the yolk into a canning jar I had on hand, a bit of spicy mustard, some water, and the vinegar, top it with a cup of canola oil.  Let this sit for as long as it takes to plug in the stick blender*.  And the magic begins!  Place the blender on the bottom of all of the muck in the jar and turn it on.  Once it starts to look like mayo slowly raise the blender up toward the top of the jar.  Mix in a pinch of salt and done!

Store in a container with a lid for up to two weeks in the fridge.

Let me say that I’m a mayo girl and not a Miracle Whip chick. I think I’d like to try to make this again with the lemon juice and see if it turns out a little less Miracle Whip-y if you know what I mean. But seriously easy and super tasty. 

Leave a Reply

