Birthday Outing With the Family

My birthday was last week and for the family outing I decided to try something new. We took a trip to the Kansas Museum of Natural History on the KU campus. I had been there before during a field trip in elementary school. The only things I remember from that trip was the jackalope and the indoor tree full of bees that came and went through a tube going outside.

Sadly this museum hasn’t changed a bit. The exhibits were as dusty today as they were twenty years ago. But it really was a good trip. The genetics exhibit was one I was looking forward most to seeing and it was very well put together. I didn’t learn anything from it that I didn’t already know from various classes but I’m a nerd like that.

After the museum we ate at a place called 715. It’s named after its address at 715 Massachusetts. The food was different and good. I wish I could say that everyone enjoyed trying new things as much as Mom and I did. I will definitely be back when I’ve got a day to myself to try the roasted cauliflower soup I passed up for the house smoked bacon, porcini mushroom, and goat cheese quiche.

After lunch we strolled up Mass to the store Brits to soothe my need for tea and also hit up the Wyldewood winery store so the family could bring back some goodies.

All in all it was a beautiful day. Thanks to my goofy family for sharing such a nice relaxing day with me.

20120325-142600.jpg

20120325-142617.jpg

20120325-142627.jpg

20120325-142645.jpg

20120325-142654.jpg

20120325-142711.jpg

Leave a Reply

