Jump In My Belly!

20120805-180351.jpg
I’ve been working on getting more protein in my diet (insert dirty joke here). With my reconfigured guts chicken is pretty much a no-no, beef has to be cooked just right, as does pork. So I’ve been looking into less mainstream meats. I’ve tried goat as well as rabbit and they didn’t go so well. Since it’s a texture thing more than flavor I keep trying new things to see what else works.
I have had frog legs before when I was on a cruise an remember that I liked them. That was before my lap-band so I didn’t know if the texture would work out this time around.

For the uninitiated frog legs have the flavor close to chicken with a texture similar to fish. I purchased several pairs and a package of seasoned cornmeal normally used for a fish fry.

The result? Tasted just like I remembered. Did it sit well with my band? Nope. Well, it was worth a try.

FRIED FROG LEGS RECIPE
•1 pound frog legs (found in the seafood department at the store)
•1 package seasoned fish fry mix (I like Louisiana brand)
•1 cup milk
•4-5 dashes hot sauce
•Oil for frying

-Mix frog legs, milk, and hot sauce in zippered bag for 10-30 minutes
-Heat oil for frying to 350
-Remove each piece from the milk bath and coat evenly in the fish fry mix
-Fry for 2-3 minutes on each side
-Remove from oil and drain on paper towels
-Serve hot

Leave a Reply

